

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Housing

June 09, 2025

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MEDIA RELEASE

Habitat for Humanity Meets with Officials from the Ministry of Housing to Discuss Sustainable and Affordable Housing Solutions

Port-of-Spain, June 9, 2025 – In alignment with the Government's thrust to provide sustainable and affordable housing solutions for the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago, Mrs. Jennifer Massiah, National Director of Habitat for Humanity Trinidad and Tobago, along with a team from the organization, met today with Dr. the Honourable David A. Lee, Minister of Housing, and Senators, the Honourable Anil Roberts and Phillip Alexander, Ministers in the Ministry of Housing.

The meeting, held at the Ministry's office at South Quay, Port of Spain, focused on exploring opportunities for future collaboration between the Ministry and Habitat for Humanity. The organisation expressed its readiness to re-establish a working relationship with the Ministry and to contribute its extensive technical expertise toward the development of sustainable, affordable, and disaster-resilient housing solutions.

Drawing from both local and international research and experience, Habitat for Humanity offered to share insights and best practices to support national housing initiatives. Discussions also emphasized the need for impactful policies and initiatives aimed at promoting affordable housing, urban renewal, and equitable access to shelter for all citizens.

Also present at the meeting were Mrs. Shanmatee Singh Ng Sang, Permanent Secretary (Ag.) and Ms. Ann Marie Francis-Charles, Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing. The Ministry reaffirmed its commitment to delivering accessible and affordable housing solutions, fostering sustainable communities, and supporting national development.



Left to Right: Jamel Fraser, Project Officer; Shanmatee Singh Ng Sang, Permanent Secretary (Ag.); Senator the Honourable Anil Roberts, Minister in the Ministry of Housing; Dr. the Honourable David Lee, Minister of Housing; Senator the Honourable Phillip Alexander, Minister in the Ministry of Housing; Winston Siriram, Vice Chairman; Mrs. Jennifer Massiah, National Director; and Ann Marie Francis-Charles, Deputy Permanent Secretary.

