• +1 (868) 623 4663

New Board at East Port of Spain Development Company Ltd

The Honourable Randall Mitchell, Minister of Housing and Urban Development presented Letters of Appointment to the members of the newly installed Board of the East Port of Spain Development Company Limited (EPOSDC) on Monday January 23, 2017 at the Ministry’s South Quay, Port of Spain office. Mr. Newman George will serve as Chairman with Dr. Jeffrey Reyes and Ms. Ann Marie Francis-Charles serving as Directors of EPOSDC.

At this short and simple ceremony, line Minister, the Honourable Randall Mitchell, reminded the new Board Members of the important responsibility which they have agreed to accept and urged them to always adhere to the principles of good corporate governance. Underscoring the fact that their role was significant in addressing issues of urban decay and poor infrastructure within the communities of east Port of Spain, the Minister stated that in moving forward, the company’s projects must always be focused on improving the quality of life for citizens who live, work and recreate within East Port of Spain and environs. The Minister urged the new board to drive the urban revitalization agenda for East Port of Spain so that residents and constituents can benefit from positive physical, social and economic transformation.

The new Chairman of EPOSDC, Newman George indicated that within his first few months as Chairman, he intends to review and seek Cabinet’s approval for the company’s draft strategic development plan and begin active implementation once the plan has been approved by Cabinet. Another urgent priority for him as Chairman is “getting stakeholders to buy-in to the idea of working together to improve the quality of life and standard of living so as to ensure continued improvement to the communities that EPOSDC serves.”

Also present at this short presentation ceremony were Ms. Simone Thorne-Mora, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Urban Development and Dr. Deborah Thomas-Austin, Managing Director, EPOSDC.

About the East Port of Spain Development Company Limited (EPOSDC):

  • EPOSDC was incorporated as a Limited Liability Company by Cabinet Minute No 2384 of September 15, 2005 and is wholly owned by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago. It became operational in April 2006 and has a mandate to develop and re-develop the areas of East Port of Spain, through economic, social and physical regeneration, The area is bounded by Charlotte Street, Lady Young Road and the Eastern Main Road.
  • The company’s strategic focus is on comprehensive and integrated planning and development and it receives funding from the Infrastructure Development Fund.
  • From 2006-2007, the company was aligned to the Ministry of Planning and Development but from 2007-2012, it fell under the remit of the Ministry of Local Government before returning to Ministry of Planning and Sustainable Development from 2012-2015.
  • From September 2015, EPOSDC was placed under the purview of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.